Georgia Moped Law on Underage Operators and Requirement for Driver’s Licenses or Permit (O.C.G.A. § 40-6-351)
Legal Commentary . Under Georgia law, no operator under the age of 15 years old is allowed to operate a moped or an electric assisted bicycle on Georgia public roads or highways. All operators of mopeds on Georgia public roads and highways are required, similar to Georgia motorcycle laws, to have with them while operating the moped either a valid driver's license or either of the two permits listed in this Section 40-6-351.
This Georgia statute specifically covers operators of an electric assisted bicycle from being required to have a license or permit that is required of moped or motorcycle operators. We are a law firm that handles serious motor vehicle accident cases, and we provide a free initial confidential consultation to accident injury victims. To set up your free consultation, send the firm a message online or call toll-free at 1-866-972-5287 or in Atlanta at 770-717-5100.
See full text below:Section 40-6-351 No person under 15 to operate moped or electric assisted bicycle on public roads and highways; driver's license or permit required for operation of moped but not for assisted bicycle
No person under 15 years of age shall operate a moped or an electric assisted bicycle upon the public roads and highways of this state. No person shall operate a moped upon the public roads and highways of this state unless he or she shall have in his or her possession a valid driver's license, instructional permit, or limited permit issued to him or her pursuant to Chapter 5 of this title; provided, however, that all classes of licenses, instructional permits, or limited permits issued pursuant to Chapter 5 of this title shall be valid for the purposes of operating mopeds upon the public roads and highways of this state. No license or permit shall be required for the operation of an electric assisted bicycle.